Challenges are good.

image source:http://www.stockvault.net/photo/121121/writing-in-a-book

image source:http://www.stockvault.net/photo/121121/writing-in-a-book

In my opinion, I’m not a very good writer. My best ideas emerge from conversations, bouncing ideas off someone/s else, not from the isolated activity of forming words on a page in a quiet bubble. I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve had my best ‘thunks’ while immersed in a good conversation with another conversationalist. While writing, for me, is just DAMN HARD WORK (albeit rewarding when I get it right). If I have the choice between writing a long email or picking up the phone for a good chin wag, I’d choose the phone call every time – even if it costs me an exorbitant phone bill.

 

So why am I embarking on the #28daysofwriting challenge? My friend Markeeta asked me to; and that is enough reason. If she took the time to think of me when she extended this invitation, then it behoves me to honour that invitation. I AM going to have to ‘tweek’ the concept of 28 days of writing and set more realistic goals for myself. The original challenge as set out by Tom Barrett here was to spend 28 mins every day of February (28 days in February this year) writing something for your blog. It’s not taking on the challenge that I will struggle with, anyone who knows me knows that I have no problem with challenges, but… I struggle with consistency. I’ve tried the 365 photo challenge – and lost momentum in about Feb. I tried the 12 week body challenge and dropped the ball at about week 5. I don’t remember to floss my teeth on any regular basis AND I use at least 4 different organisational tools – digital and paper … ’nuff said!

28 days is my goal, but I’m going to make the time frame more realistic for my creative tendencies and time constraints. 28 days of writing IN THE NEXT 12 months will be my modified challenge. I realise how woos-ey this sounds compared to the original challenge but if, when I achieve this I can assure you I will be proud of that achievement and it will have raised the bar from my current standard.

If I surpass these incredibly modest goals, I’ll invite lots of praise and back patting and….AIM for the next goal 🙂

It’s never a waste of time investing in yourself.

NOTE TO SELF –  I’m DEFINITELY going to have to work on the 28mins guideline.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *